Skip to main content

About us

Heythrop was established in 1614 in Louvain by the Society of Jesus (the Jesuits) for the study of philosophy and theology. Since 1970, it has been a College of the University of London, while retaining a modern Catholic ethos, and offers an educational experience that respects all faiths and perspectives. Heythrop is also the Lead College for the University of London International Programme's Bachelor of Divinity degree and Diploma in Theology.

As announced on 26th June 2015, Heythrop will cease to be a College of the University of London in the summer of 2018.

Over the course of the remaining year, the work of our four Research Centres and two Institutes, based in the departments of Theology and Philosophy will continue, offering engaging public events and academic conferences on topical themes. Details of such events will be available on the events page and on the individual Centre and Institute pages.